The Louis XV armchair and the history of furnit...

The Louis XV armchair and the history

The Louis XV armchair and the history

The Louis XV style armchair is a very popular seat model of the 18th century with two variations: the convertible seat and the Queen model. During the reign of Louis XV, the armchair is the seat seen. Symbol of the eighteenth century, it is a seat in the wooden chassis which comes in various forms: Queen armchair, bergère, canne ...

The Louis XV style armchair, an elegant seat

The most famous being the convertible armchair and its curved backrest. Molded or sculpted at the level of the sleepers, it is an elegant armchair, often light, which is characterized by its rounded and graceful lines. It largely testifies to the technical advances and innovations of the time in the manufacture of seats, to its armrests, set back because of the size of the dresses of the time.

The legs of the chair adopt the shape of the S and end in a winding. The seat is flared, and the armrests, very open, are set back in order to allow the ladies to sit comfortably despite their bulky dresses.

The seat and the backrest are often removable, which makes it possible to change them. Their blankets are made of fabrics or tapestries to the point, sometimes united, often decorated with flowers or representing various scenes: pastoral, fables of the Fountain, chinese, ... The frame is usually made of beech or walnut, Lacquered or gilded.

The chair has been designed in many categories, each with its own characteristics. The Queen's chair, with its flat backrest, is often heavy and difficult to move. The cabriolet armchair, the most famous of Louis XV style armchairs, is much lighter and has a curved back.

The seat of the Louis XV period

As regards furniture and furnishings, the eighteenth century is the century of luxury: the Louis XV style (1730-1760), testifies to this. And what is more emblematic of this style than the famous Louis XV armchair, the headquarters of the period? This Louis seat is characterized by a perfect execution: it is a light and graceful piece of furniture, notably thanks to its lines with a very rounded movement which seek to reproduce a vegetable style. The crosspieces, and often the feet and armrests, are adorned with fine moldings, or of various sculptures: rocailles motifs, shells, flowers, ...

The armchair Louis XV style, emblem of the period has been declined in many forms and still remains today among the most famous pieces of furniture.

L'histoire du fauteuil de style Louis XV

L'histoire du fauteuil de style Louis XV

L'histoire du fauteuil de style Louis XV

Le fauteuil style Louis XV est un modèle de sièges très populaire du XVIIIe siècle avec ses deux variations : le siège cabriolet et le modèle à la Reine. Sous le règne de Louis XV, le fauteuil est le siège vue.
Symbole du XVIIIe siècle, c'est une assise au châssis en bois qui se présente sous diverses formes : fauteuil à la Reine, bergère, canné...

Le Fauteuil style Louis XV, un siège élégant

Le plus célèbre étant le fauteuil cabriolet et son dossier incurvé. Moulé ou sculpté au niveau des traverses, c'est un fauteuil élégant, souvent léger, qui se caractérise par ses lignes arrondies et gracieuses. Il témoigne largement des avancées techniques et des innovations de l'époque en matière de fabrication de sièges, jusqu'à ses accotoirs, reculés en raison de la taille des robes de l'époque.

Les pieds du fauteuil adoptent la forme du S et se terminent en enroulement. Le siège est évasé, et les accotoirs, très ouverts, sont reculés afin de permettre aux dames de s'asseoir confortablement malgré leurs robes encombrantes.

L'assise et le dossier sont souvent amovibles, ce qui permet de les changer. Leurs couvertures sont faites de tissus ou de tapisseries au point, parfois unies, souvent ornées de motifs fleuris ou représentant des scènes diverses : pastorales, fables de la Fontaine, chinoiseries,... Le châssis est généralement en bois de hêtre ou de noyer, laqué voire doré.

Le fauteuil a été décliné en de nombreuses catégories possédant chacune leurs caractéristiques propres. Le fauteuil à la Reine, au dossier plat, est souvent lourd et difficilement déplaçable. Le fauteuil cabriolet, le plus célèbre des fauteuils du style Louis XV, est quant à lui beaucoup plus léger et possède un dossier incurvé.

Le siège de l'époque Louis XV

En ce qui concerne le mobilier et l'ameublement, le XVIIIe siècle est le siècle du luxe : le style Louis XV (1730-1760), en témoigne. Or qu'y a-t-il de plus emblématique de ce style que le fameux fauteuil Louis XV, siège phare de la période ? Ce siège Louis se caractérise par une exécution parfaite : c'est un meuble léger et gracieux, notamment grâce à ses lignes au mouvement très arrondi qui cherchent à reproduire un style végétal. Les traverses, et souvent les pieds et les accotoirs, sont ornées de fines moulures, ou de sculptures variées : motifs rocailles, coquilles, fleurs,...

Le fauteuil style Louis XV, emblème de la période a été décliné sous bien des formes et reste encore aujourd'hui parmi les pièces les plus célèbres du mobilier.

Rendez vous dans notre magasin de fauteuils de style ancien pour acheter un fauteuil Louis XV.